PNR Status : Railway Ticket Codes and Meaning

Railway CodesPNR Status – Railway Ticket Codes and Meaning :  Abbreviations and symbols in Indian Railway PNR status leaves many passengers confused. For common symbols like RAC which stands for Reservation Against Cancellation – it might be easy. But not for symbols like PQWL –  for everyone. Just decoding the abbreviations won’t finish your job, the meaning might still remain unclear. This post is an attempt to help passengers with common Railway Ticket Codes and their meaning.

Different Symbols in the PNR status

Symbol Description
CAN / MOD Cancelled or Modified Passenger
CNF / Confirmed Confirmed (Coach/Berth number will be available after chart preparation)
RAC Reservation Against Cancellation. Seat is guaranteed but berth needs to be shared between two persons. Individual berths will be allotted only if RAC becomes a CNF ticket.
WL # Waiting List Number
CK Tatkal Quota
CKWL Tatkal Waiting List. CKWL means when the waiting list moves up you can expect confirmed berth. But when the normal waiting list moves up, it goes to the  RAC category.
GNWL General Wait List
PQWL Pooled Quota Wait List
REGRET/WL No More Booking Permitted
RELEASED Ticket Not Cancelled but Alternative Accommodation Provided
R# # RAC Coach Number Berth Number. Same berth will be alloted to two RAC passengers and they need to share it.

Having found the meanings of most commonly seen abbreviations in PNR status, adding another useful word related with Indian Railways here: TDR. TDR stands for Ticket Deposit Receipt. Ticket Deposit Receipt can be submitted to claim refund if customer was not able to perform the journey.

Disclaimer: There are may be new rules and regulations related to TDR. For latest rules check the official Indian railway website. For related topics read our website link: Indian Railways.


Comments are closed.