Pin-code of a Post Office

What is PINCODE?

Postal Index Number (PIN) or  Pincode is the identifier used by India Post to locate geographical regions and post offices in India. The PINcode is a 6 digit code. The first digit of Pincode indicates the regional zone, the second digit indicate the sub region (or the postal circles), the third digits represents a revenue district. The final three digits are assigned to individual post offices.

How to find out the PINCODE of a place?

Searching by Pincode or PostOffice Name: If you know the name of the post office mention that in the below link. Or else, if you know the PINCODE and just want to know the post office, specify the name and search.

India Post PINCODE search –¬†

The 9 Main PIN Zones in India:

The nine PIN zones cover the Indian states and union territories as follows:

1 – Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir(including Pakistan-administered Kashmir), Chandigarh

2 – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand

3 – Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra & Nagar Haveli

4 – Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh

5 – Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka

6 – Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry, Lakshadweep

7 – Orissa, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman & Nicobar Islands

8 – Bihar, Jharkhand

9 – Army Post office(APO) and Field Post office(FPO)